Leadership …

Leadership, the big word that I want to be but don’t want to be called. Maybe that’s my humbleness getting in the way. As most of you imagined, I enjoyed these weeks readings. Especially Coatney’s chapter on Teacher-Librarian as curriculum leader. One thing I enjoyed about the chapter was the recognition that you can’t change things over night. That it takes “baby steps”, building up your trust and relationships with your teachers, along with having a welcoming personality. I took Keeling’s article and How to stop a failing school from failing, as an excellent role model and demonstration of how a librarian can be a leader (Wowzers!). Also, while I was reading Coatney’s chapter, it reminded me of the importance of the library also being a space for students to freely explore their interests.

This hit me again when I read the Harada article about inquiry based learning of how one librarian stated, “Why is the library now a classroom instead of a place to share books?”. At first when I read this, I snickered, because to me our role is so much more than books, and I take the teacher component to heart. But then I reflected on what this librarian was saying. I think there is something deeper there. The library is unique because we aren’t necessarily structured as a classroom, from our size to seat arrangements. The space itself is different. Then we have the librarian her/him self that are not like your regular subject teachers, we’re a bit of renaissance-type people. Not only that but we typically have listened to what our students and teachers want/need from the library. So, the library is a great place for implementing inquiry based learning, but I think we also need to remember how it is also that special, safe, intimate place for students to come to and get lost in something wonderful.

2 thoughts on “Leadership …

  1. molliehall says:

    I love this! I agree that the readings provided great examples. They got me pretty excited for the possbilities that librarians have. And the quote from the Harada article is really thought-provoking as well. We can’t be all about collections and book storage, as it was kind of talking in the readings about library design. But I agree that the library shouldn’t just be a classroom either. I love the way that you put what you want the library to be – “that special, safe, intimate place for students to come to and get lost in something wonderful.” Such a beautiful way to put it! I want to provide a place like this for students, somewhere where they can inquire and learn even more than in the classroom alone but not feel like they are being graded.

    • foresterkma says:

      Thanks, Mollie! I agree with you, to be able to provide a space where students can just explore and not worry about a silly letter representing what they know or don’t know! It reminds me a lot of what the art room was for me in high school. A place to just fully express, experiment, and explore. I’m excited you’re excited too, we’ll be great sounding boards for each other throughout our professional lives!

Leave a Reply

