Mission Impossible to Possible

copyright: Randy Glasbergen from http://www.glasbergen.com/?s=mission+statement

copyright: Randy Glasbergen from http://www.glasbergen.com/?s=mission+statement

The majority of this week’s readings were about the necessity to have a mission statement for your library (and school). The Zmuda reading in particular focuses on the library media center in how it can help complete the mission of the school. Zmuda also stresses that school staff (including the school librarian) should have “candor”, or be able to speak openly of where their our gaps in instruction that are causing the mission of the school to be unmet. Zmuda makes clear and understanding points of the importance of knowing the mission of the school and playing an active role in the school community.

I felt her article focused most on just the overall school’s mission, and how the library can adapt to it. rather than the library itself creating one. I’m currently wondering what it would look like if each classroom, or space of the school had their own mission statements that feed into the over arching mission. Would that be too much? Or would help people focus on the goals, and clearly see how they have achieved these goals?

I found the article on how to write a mission statement to be the reading that stuck most with me this week as I’ve been pondering mission statements, philosophies, and goals. I have often seen very flowery, non-direct, and just plain confusing ones. I enjoyed this article because it discussed the importance of make direct concrete mission statements to help the organization stay on track. Well, that sure makes sense and seems a little obvious. They also stress the need on this idea of not so much a focus on feel-good feelings, but more on actions.

So my mission statement (a work in progress):  Students will leave with skills and understanding that will promote lifelong learning, and be active creators and collaborators in their communities.

The two essays that resonated with me from School Libraries e-book were: You had me at “Hello”, and “One special teacher”.

I enjoyed the You had me at “Hello” because of the importance it stressed on how grabbing the attention of your students at the beginning can make all the difference. It reminded me of the class we had on the presidents, when we read the article on Grover Cleveland, and then developed topics to search. It also reminded me of discussions I had with Jane during my practicum on this very idea.

I also enjoyed One Special Teacher, because I felt it was a helpful way to get your foot into the door to collaborating in your school, especially when you’re new, not only to the school but also the profession. I found the advice helpful.

One thought on “Mission Impossible to Possible

  1. molliehall says:

    I never would have thought about a school where each class has its own mission statement. I’m wondering how that would pan out. I like the idea because each teacher can fit his or her classroom into the school’s overall mission. I can see how it could be way too much going on, so maybe instead the departments could all have a mission statement on how they help the school achieve its mission? This could potentially help students as well, so that they might see why a certain subject is important and why they have to learn it.

Leave a Reply

