The Technology Talk

I know a lot of you are book lovers, and I do love books… but I really love technology. Like a lot. Fiddling around with computer programs, websites, or new devices is my bread and butter. So, I am very excited about this week. I’m also very much in agreement, and appreciative of the wise warnings to not just buy the new shiny thing.

One thing I loved about Pride and Prejudice and Technology Leadership, well there was a lot, but one I thing that really stuck out to me was the idea that it’s not necessarily about the tool, but what the tool needs to do. Also, the technology needs to be good for the user, not the user adapting to the technology. A fun activity I like to do is think of ways to use free software, or common software in schools and at home, that can be used in different ways than necessarily intended for. Kristin knows of my PowerPoint stop-motion mini-project, where I used  a poem to create a moving visual with just PowerPoint. Discovering new things, like video, and photo editors online make me excited. I usually want to show someone right way this cool new toy I’ve discovered.

I believe self-expression is important for everyone. We all need ways to express our feelings, and our thoughts. The multitude of modalities that we are able to do that, and then share with a community, is incredible! But I also am a strong believer in needing to understand the critical aspects about technology, and technology use. I like the ISTE standards, and I like what they call for teachers to do. We’re not using technology for technology’s sake. We’re using technology to help foster student learning. Our world and technology is going to keep changing in ways that we won’t know, but if we can use these tools to help students learn to think critically, engage with material more deeply, and interact with one another respectively … that is incredible.

Lastly, I enjoy the Woolls, Weeks and Coatney book due to its stark practicality. As this course has progressed, the idea of technology plans has been in the back of my mind. Particularly on how these are initiated, created, and implemented. I think they bring up some great points to consider. I was surprised though at how much they were discussing how to be careful with things like filters, creating personal websites, making sure parents sign permissions slips for internet use, and hackers making their way onto the Wi-Fi. While I understood all of these concerns, in someways these felt almost outdated. However, I go to UMSI, with a strong understanding of the Internet, and the ethics and practices that come along with it. I know how to protect myself, and how to help others protect themselves. So maybe, I’m blurred by my own assumptions that every SLMS knows the same amount about technology. I do have a question with that being said, What if a parent doesn’t want their child to use the Internet? What do you do?

2 thoughts on “The Technology Talk

  1. leafinglight says:

    So I know I’m a little behind in the conversation, but going back through your blog I find I’m intrigued by your closing question. What *should* we do if someone doesn’t want their child to use the internet? Is that even an option today? In understand being cautious in exposing your kids to technology, but eschewing it entirely?–that seems pretty difficult. What sort of life would that child lead when compared to his/her peers? Would he/she be able to function within the restriction set by his/her parents? Hmm… What do you think?

    • foresterkma says:

      So, my question on this actually stemmed from something that is happening right now in Goshen, IN at elementary school. 85% of the students are Amish, and obviously due to religious beliefs, parents want either very low tech, or preferably no tech at all in the schools. Since the majority of the students make up the schools population, and therefor, their money helps pay for the majority, the school has been trying to figure out how to go about this. I think it is absolutely fascinating, especially since we’ll be graduates from an ischool. I think your questions are equally as interesting in light of this. Let me ponder some more.

Leave a Reply

